Plantbased Pow(d)erbowl

I’ve tried my fair share of nutritional powders – from swearing by vanilla protein powders, branching out to single serving variety packs from Whole Foods, to finally discovering that there’s more to nutrition than just protein. When I started eating vegan, I reevaluated my food staples, and I’ve been supplementing my meals with nutritional powder every since.

Spirutein is my newfound holy grail nutritional powder.

I love adding it to smoothies, mashing a scoop into a ripe banana if I’m in a rush, baking it into pancake batter, and of course in breakfast bowls.

Today I combined Strawberry Spirutein, cocoa powder, coconut yogurt, and other staples that I keep in my pantry such as any fibery cereals, chia and flax seeds, granola, and dates.

I’ve learned to use nutritional powder supplementally – not as a meal replacement!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I’ve tried Spirutein in Banana, Strawberry, and Plain, and I’ve been really pleasantly surprised by how mild and sweet they are! They don’t taste overpoweringly powdery like some of the protein powders I’ve sworn by in the past. Spirutein also has a long list of vitamins and minerals, and even has iron, B12, and zinc.

I know that I’m hitting daily nutrient levels without having to track everything I eat.

Spirutein’s packaging says ‘Vegetarian’, but other than Plain containing bee pollen the last time I purchased it, the other non-whey flavors seem to be vegan!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Leave a comment